War Orphans: An emotional historical family saga

War Orphans: An emotional historical family saga

Rating produs
  • Timp de retur Drept de retur 14 zile

Joanna Ryan’s father has gone off to war, leaving her in the care of her step-mother, a woman more concerned with having a good time than being any sort of parent to her...

  • Categorie: Carti Fictiune
  • Vanzator: anticexlibris.ro/
  • Cod intern: 9781804152867
Mary Toft; or, the Rabbit Queen

Mary Toft; or, the Rabbit Queen

7 LEI info

A stunning, powerfully evocative new novel based on a true story - in 1726 in the small town of Godalming, England, a young woman confounds

Pack Up Your Troubles

Pack Up Your Troubles

7 LEI info

The sixth and final book in the War at Home series by the author of The Morland Dynasty novels. Set against the evocative backdrop of

The Testimony of Alys Twist

The Testimony of Alys Twist

7 LEI info

1553: deeply-divided England rejoices as the rightful heir, Mary Tudor, sweeps to power on a tide of populist goodwill. But the people should have been

The Healing

The Healing

7 LEI info

A new edition of a National Book Award finalist follows a black faith healer whose shrewd observations about human nature are told with the rich

A Ration Book Victory : The brand new heartwarming historical fiction romance

A Ration Book Victory : The brand new heartwarming historical fiction romance

7 LEI info

Queenie Brogan wasn't always an East End matriarch. Many years ago, before she married Fergus, she was Philomena Dooley, a daughter of Irish Travellers, planning

Kettle of Fish

Kettle of Fish

7 LEI info

In 1857, the Tweed Fisheries Act made it illegal to fish for salmon in 50 square miles of open sea off the mouth of the

Animale salbatice - Mica enciclopedie

Animale salbatice - Mica enciclopedie

7 LEI info

Autor: Laura Ivona Dumitru

Colt Alb (Editie ilustrata)

Colt Alb (Editie ilustrata)

7 LEI info

Autor: Jack London

Glitter of Mica

Glitter of Mica

7 LEI info

In the parish of Caldwell, in the heart of rural Aberdeenshire, life goes on much as it always has done for those who work on

Bombsites and Lollipops : My 1950s East End Childhood

Bombsites and Lollipops : My 1950s East End Childhood

7 LEI info

World War Two is finally over. Millions all over the country are starting to wonder if peacetime really is much of an improvement on the

Noah: The Official Movie Novelization

Noah: The Official Movie Novelization

7 LEI info

The Biblical Noah suffers visions of an apocalyptic deluge and takes measures to protect his family from the coming flood. The official novelization of the

Hystopia

Hystopia

7 LEI info

At the bitter end of the 1960s, after surviving multiple assassination attempts, President John F. Kennedy has created a vast federal agency, the Psych Corps,

Crystal's Song

Crystal's Song

7 LEI info

Millie Gray returns to wartime Leith to weave another tale full of warmth and humor, hardship, and survival. Living in the same neighborhood as the

The Pre-War House and Other Stories

The Pre-War House and Other Stories

7 LEI info

Shortlisted for the East Midlandâe(tm)s Book Award 2014The Pre-War House and Other Stories is the debut collection from Alison Moore, whose first novel, The Lighthouse,

The Holy City: A Tale of Clydebank

The Holy City: A Tale of Clydebank

7 LEI info

Tells the story of Marion McLeod, the daughter of a riveter, who has been brought up in the Clydebank tenements and brings the horror and

Murder at Chateau Sur Mer

Murder at Chateau Sur Mer

7 LEI info

Late nineteenth-century Newport, Rhode Island, is home to some of America's wealthiest citizens. For society reporter Emma Cross, a less well-heeled cousin to the illust...

The Standardization of Demoralization Procedures

The Standardization of Demoralization Procedures

7 LEI info

For readers of Anthony Marra, Ottessa Moshfegh, and Nicole Krauss, a darkly comic and hauntingly surreal debut novel about what happens when ideologies crumble and

Sotii de artisti

Sotii de artisti

7 LEI info

Autori: Alphonse Daudet, Cristina Geanta

The Suicide Run

The Suicide Run

7 LEI info

The four narratives which make up this posthumous collection draw upon William Styron's experiences in the US Marine Corps, and give us an insight into

The Dolocher

The Dolocher

7 LEI info

The Dolocher is stalking the alleyways of Dublin. Half man, half pig, this terrifying creature has unleashed panic on the streets. Can it really be

The Steamie

The Steamie

7 LEI info

Magrit, Dolly, Doreen and Mrs Culfeathers are the lifeblood of their Glasgow community and the steamie is at the centre of their world. Now, in

Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls

Patron Saint of Pregnant Girls

7 LEI info

In the summer of 1878, the Ludwig Zirkus has come to the island Nordstrand in Germany. Big-bellied girls rush from St. Margaret's Home for Pregnant

The Front Runner

The Front Runner

7 LEI info

Now a major motion picture starring Hugh Jackman. When politics went tabloid… In May 1987, Colorado Senator Gary Hart seemed like a no-brainer for the

NUVELE SI POVESTIRI

NUVELE SI POVESTIRI

7 LEI info

Autor: Barbu Stefanescu Delavrancea

Bad Elements

Bad Elements

7 LEI info

A fascinating look at contemporary China from an important commentator

Billionaires' Banquet

Billionaires' Banquet

7 LEI info

1985, Edinburgh. Thatcher’s policies are biting deep – fat cats and street-kids, lovers, losers and the rest struggle to survive. Hume sets up a business

The Undiscovered Country

The Undiscovered Country

7 LEI info

1920, the Irish War of Independence. Amid the turmoil of an emerging nation, two young IRA members assigned to police a rural village discover the

Corigent la limba romana

Corigent la limba romana

7 LEI info

Autor: Ion Minulescu

Balade vesele si triste

Balade vesele si triste

7 LEI info

Autor: George Toparceanu

Insir-te, Margarite

Insir-te, Margarite

7 LEI info

Autor: Victor Eftimiu

Vera Brittain and the First World War

Vera Brittain and the First World War

7 LEI info

The deaths of her brother and fiance in the First World War inspired Vera Brittain (1893-1970) to write the enduringly popular Testament of Youth. To

The Longest Night

The Longest Night

7 LEI info

De la eliberarea Olandei, Emma Verweji a trăit în Rotterdam, pe o stradă care a devenit o cetate a prieteniilor pentru locatarii săi în timpul

A Small Dark Quiet

A Small Dark Quiet

7 LEI info

March, 1945. The ravaged face of London will soon be painted with victory, but for Sylvie, the private battle for peace is just beginning. When

Eagle in Exile (The Hesperian Trilogy #2)

Eagle in Exile (The Hesperian Trilogy #2)

7 LEI info

In AD 1218, Praetor Gaius Marcellinus was ordered to conquer Nova Hesperia and make it a Roman province. But outside the walls of the great

The Child from Nowhere

The Child from Nowhere

7 LEI info

Immigrant, Montana

Immigrant, Montana

7 LEI info

Carrying a single suitcase, Kailash arrives in post-Reagan America from India to attend graduate school. As he begins to settle into American existence, Kailash comes

The Free State of Jones

The Free State of Jones

7 LEI info

Adding further controversy to the legend is the story of Newton Knight's interracial romance with his accomplice, Rachel, a slave. From their relationship there develope...

Pasteluri

Pasteluri

7 LEI info

Autor: Vasile Alecsandri

Orthokostá: A Novel

Orthokostá: A Novel

7 LEI info

A preeminent work of modern Greek literature, this provocative novel poses difficult questions about the nation’s Nazi occupation and early Civil War years First publis...

The Beast in the Red Forest

The Beast in the Red Forest

7 LEI info

A soldier returns from the frontline of battle to report that Pekkala's charred body has been found at the site of an ambush. But Stalin

Three Cheers for Me

Three Cheers for Me

7 LEI info

With his disturbingly horse-like face and a pious distaste for strong drink and bad language, young Bartholomew Bandy doesn't seem cut out for life in

SPARTACUS-MORITURI

SPARTACUS-MORITURI

7 LEI info

Batiatus and Solonius vie with each other for the favor of one Marcus Licinius Crassus, an equites who aims at the praetorship. Thrilled by the

Spring Comes to Emmerdale

Spring Comes to Emmerdale

7 LEI info

World War I wages on, and the families of Emmerdale are trying their best to move on from tragedy, while the effects of war still

Ghicitori, Proverbe, Zicatori

Ghicitori, Proverbe, Zicatori

7 LEI info

Fate and Fortune

Fate and Fortune

7 LEI info

The year is 1581, and the young St Andrews academic Hew Cullan is unhappy with his life and disillusioned with the law. After his father's

Vanity Fair

Vanity Fair

7 LEI info

William Makepeace Thackeray's witty literary classic Vanity Fair is set against the backdrop of the Napoleonic Wars, and follows anti-heroine and ruthless social clim...

Din lumea celor care nu cuvanta

Din lumea celor care nu cuvanta

7 LEI info

Autor: Emil Garleanu

A Darkening of the Heart

A Darkening of the Heart

7 LEI info

In 18th-century Scotland, Alexander, a doctor and poet, and his snobbish sister Susanna are desperate to advance their social standing. And while Susanna unwittingly ge...

Povesti

Povesti

7 LEI info

Autor: Ion Luca Caragiale

A Reckoning

A Reckoning

7 LEI info

Spring 1855 and Virginian farmer John Dickinson has a dangeroussecret that will have epic consequences. The family's riches have been wasted by John's eckless brother.

Sunday Girls

Sunday Girls

7 LEI info

A moving family saga from the author of the bestselling Voices in the StreetIt is the time of the Great Depression and jobs are scarce.

Fading of the Light

Fading of the Light

7 LEI info

Benedict's arrival shatters the peaceful and creative atmosphere of the close-knit community. When Edith will not allow him back into her bed, the conflict escalates

Britanicus

Britanicus

7 LEI info

Autor: Racine

Sword and the Spear

Sword and the Spear

7 LEI info

The second novel in the exhilarating Sands of the Emperor trilogy, following the Man Booker International Prize finalist Woman of the Ashes Mozambique, 1895. After

Cei trei muschetari

Cei trei muschetari

7 LEI info

Autor: Alexandre Dumas

Hagi Tudose

Hagi Tudose

6 LEI info

Autor: Barbu Stefanescu Delavrancea

Strain in casnicie (editie de buzunar)

Strain in casnicie (editie de buzunar)

8 LEI info

Autor: Emir Kusturica

Insula misterioasa

Insula misterioasa

8 LEI info

Autor: Jules Verne

O viata mai buna (editie de buzunar)

O viata mai buna (editie de buzunar)

8 LEI info

Autor: Anna Gavalda

Saman

Saman

8 LEI info

Autor: Adina Dabija